Via Credit Union
Home | About us
The credit union was formed in 1936 by a group of teachers and administrators from the Marion Community School System under the name Marion, Indiana, Public School Employees Federal Credit Union. The credit union started with 38 charter members, less than $100 in assets and was operated out of the home of the (volunteer) Treasurer.

In 1956, the field of membership was extended to include all other school systems in Grant County.

In 1965, with nearly 1 million dollars in assets, the credit union rented its first space and hired its first full-time employee. Then in 1972, the first office on Bradner Avenue in West Marion was built.

In 1983, the credit union merged with Blackford County Public Employees Federal Credit Union and as a result a branch was established in Hartford City (1984). Other branches were also established in South Marion (1990), Gas City (1995) and in West Marion (1996).

In 2003, a new administrative center and South Marion branch were constructed at the site of the old South Marion branch. The Bradner and West Marion branch were consolidated into a new building in 2008 when assets exceeded $200 million.

In 2007, the credit union converted to a state-chartered credit union and the field of membership expanded to anyone living or working in Blackford, Grant, Madison or Miami County.

After the enlarged field of membership, the name Marion School Employees Credit Union presented a barrier to people believing they weren’t eligible to join the credit union. Therefore, a naming committee made up of members, volunteers, staff and management was formed to select two names that were placed before the membership for a vote. The name VIA received the most votes and became the credit union’s new name.

In November 2010, Via Credit Union merged with Grant County Community Federal Credit Union and as a result a branch was established at 6033 East Big Play Way and upstairs in the downtown Marion Post Office.

In July 2013, Via Credit Union once again expanded the field of membership to include Delaware, Hamilton, Howard, Huntington, Tipton, Wabash and Wells County.
© 2020 Access Softek
Member NCUA, Equal Housing Lender ESI
[Full Site]